Tuesday, January 19, 2021


WhatsApp users warned that their account could be blocked next month

WhatsApp has begun notifying users about changes to its terms, which come into effect in a few weeks time on…

By admin , in Tech , at January 8, 2021 Tags:

WhatsApp has begun notifying users about changes to its terms, which come into effect in a few weeks time on February 8. While this upcoming change was first revealed last month, WhatsApp users have now started to receive in-app alerts about this inbound change. The message is titled ‘WhatsApp is updating its terms and privacy policy’ and then goes onto to talk about some ‘key updates’.

But WhatsApp fans may find the most important thing they need to know is in the fine print, with WhatsApp saying users need to agree to these Ts and Cs to continue using the app.

WhatsApp said: “By tapping agree, you accept the new terms and privacy policy, which take effect on February 8, 2021. After this date, you’ll need to accept these updates to continue using WhatsApp. You can also visit the Help Centre if you would prefer to delete your account and would like more information.”

This alert has begun popping up in WhatsApp, with one of those receiving the message being tech leaker Ishan Agarwal.

Agarwal tweeted: “Not gonna lie I was probably half asleep when this came up and blindly must have tapped agree to check my WhatsApp messages and most people do that”.

While other WhatsApp users have also taken to Twitter recently to say they have received in-app messages about these terms and conditions changes.

Express.co.uk previously reported on these Ts and Cs changes back in December, when WhatsApp super sleuths WABetaInfo discovered proof of the upcoming changes before they were officially announced.

At the time a WhatsApp spokesperson confirmed to Express.co.uk that users needed to agree to the new Ts and Cs if they wanted to continue using the chat app.

The spokesperson also said: “We’ll be updating our terms of service and privacy policy as we work to make WhatsApp a great way to get answers or help from a business.”

According to a post by XDA Developers, the changes to the WhatsApp Ts and Cs have a number of different ramifications for users.

But arguably the biggest change surrounds how WhatsApp handles data with its parent company Facebook.

Previously WhatsApp gave users the option to “not have your WhatsApp account information shared with Facebook”, but this appears to be done away with the latest update.

If you’re wondering what data could get shared with Facebook, here’s what WhatsApp has to say on their website: “The information we share with the other Facebook Companies includes your account registration information (such as your phone number), transaction data, service-related information, information on how you interact with others (including businesses) when using our Services, mobile device information, your IP address, and may include other information identified in the Privacy Policy section entitled ‘Information We Collect’ or obtained upon notice to you or based on your consent.”

Speaking about their new privacy policy, a WhatsApp spokesperson said: “There are no changes to WhatsApp’s data sharing practices in the European region (including UK) arising from the updated Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

“For the avoidance of any doubt, it is still the case that WhatsApp does not share European region WhatsApp user data with Facebook for the purpose of Facebook using this data to improve its products or advertisements.”

SOURCE

Comments


Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *