Sprots

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp accuses Napolis Jose Callejon of diving to win penalty in Champions League clash

Jose Callejon went down under a challenge from Andrew Robertson to win a penalty (Picutre: Getty Images)

Jurgen Klopp believes Jose Callejon dived to win a penalty for Napoli as Liverpool fell to a 2-0 defeat in Italy.

There was little between the two sides in Naples on Tuesday night, but with 10 minutes to go, and the score at 0-0, the referee pointed to the penalty spot after Reds full-back Andy Robertson was judged to have felled Callejon.

Dries Mertens stepped up to score the penalty, before Fernando Llorente added a second in injury time to give the Italians a 2-0 win over the European champions.

However, Reds manager Klopp is certain that the spot-kick should not have been given and that Callejon was already falling to the ground before any contact was made.

This could be a big moment in Group E… 👀

Jose Callejon wins a penalty, Dries Mertens dispatches it to put Napoli 1-0 up.

Harsh? Or correct call? 🤔 pic.twitter.com/pWuhrzJL0b

— Football on BT Sport (@btsportfootball) September 17, 2019

Advertisement

Advertisement

We conceded a penalty that doesnt help, I saw it now and I dont think it was a penalty and I have no idea, its difficult, Klopp told BT Sport.

For me its clear and obvious its not a penalty, because Callejon jumped before there was any contact, but we cannot change that.

Klopp added in his post-match press conference: Im pretty sure there are different views on the situation, but when a player jumps before there is contact, then it cannot be a penalty.

More: Football

Former Liverpool striker Michael Owen agreed that it wasnt a penalty, but only after viewing the replays.

As soon as they touched I thought it was a penalty, Owen told BT Sport. As soon as I saw it on the replay I thought “Im not so sure.”

His right leg. he drags it and then drags it into Robertson.

Read More – Source

Related Posts